Historical Periods in the History of Israel

Chronology of Time Used by Archaeologist and Historians

- Early Bronze Age 4000–2000 BC
- Middle Bronze Age 2000–1500 BC
- Late Bronze Age 1500-1200 BC
- Iron 1 Age 1200-1000 BC
- Iron 2 Age 1000-586 BC

Canaanite Period 4000-1875 BC

- 4000–3000 BC Megiddo, Hazar, and Jerusalem established.
- 2500 BC Noah and the Great Flood.
- 2100 BC Tower of Babel
- 2095 BC Abraham moved to the land of Canaan from Ur of the Chaldeans.
- 1875 BC Jacob and his family move to Egypt to live with Joseph.

Israelite Period 1450-965 BC

- 1450 BC Exodus of the Israelites from Egypt.
- 1406 BC Jews enter the Promised Land.
- 1012 BC Saul unified the 12 Hebrew tribes into the United Kingdom of Israel.
- 1004–965 BC David's reign.

First Temple Period 965-586 BC

- 964–926 BC Solomon's reign, glory years of the Kingdom of Israel.
- 950 BC Solomon builds the magnificent Temple on Mount Moriah in Jerusalem (same place Abraham intended to sacrifice Isaac).
- 926 BC Kingdom of Israel divided because of Solomon's sins. Jeroboam reigned over the northern Kingdom of Israel from Samaria. Rehoboam reigned over the southern Kingdom of Israel from Jerusalem.
- 722 BC Assyrians conquer and deport most of the northern Kingdom of Israel to Assyria.
- 586 BC Babylonians conquer Jerusalem and Judah under Nebuchadnezzar and deport most of the southern Kingdom of Judah to Babylon.

Second Temple Period 538-444 BC

- 538 BC Many Jews return from Babylonia; Second Temple began to be rebuilt.
- 458 BC Ezra returns to Jerusalem with second wave of Jews to continue rebuilding the Second Temple.

• 444 BC – Nehemiah returns to Jerusalem to rebuild city walls.

Hellenistic Period (Greek Rule) 333-166 BC

• 333 BC – Alexander the Great defeats the Persian Empire and sets out to conquer the world. After his sudden death in 323 BC, the Greek Empire is divided. During this period the Bible is translated into Greek (the Septuagint).

Hasmonean Period (Maccabean Rule) 166-63 BC

• 167 BC – When the Jews were prohibited from practicing Judaism and their temple was desecrated as part of an effort to impose Greek-oriented culture and customs on the entire population, the Jews revolted (166 BCE). First led by Mattathias of the priestly Hasmonean family and then by his son Judah the Maccabee, the Jews subsequently entered Jerusalem and purified the temple. This purification of the temple is remembered by the Jewish Holiday, Hanukkah (164 BCE).

Roman Period (Roman Rule) 63 BC-330 AD

- 63 BC Jerusalem captured by Roman general, Pompey.
- 37 BC Herod, Roman vassal king, rules the Land of Israel. He enlarges the Temple Mount and rebuilds the temple. He also builds other monumental projects including Caesarea, Herodian, Cave of the Patriarchs, and Masada.
- 4 BC Jesus born in Bethlehem.
- 27–30 AD Ministry of Jesus.
- 30 AD Jesus crucified.
- 66 AD Jewish revolt against the Romans
- 70 AD Destruction of Jerusalem and Second Temple.
- 73 AD Fall of Masada.
- 132 AD Bar Kochba Revolt. Hadrian destroys Jerusalem and builds Aelia Capitolina, a pagan city in its place. Many holy sites are preserved, but with pagan shrines.

Byzantine Period (Eastern Part of Roman Empire Rule) 330-614 AD

- 313 Emperor Constantine recognizes Christianity, later becoming a Christian himself.
- 326 Constantine's mother, Helena, goes to the Holy Land and builds many churches and basilicas on holy sites.

Persian Period 614-628 AD

• 614 – Persian conquest of the Holy Land. Many churches and monasteries destroyed.

Byzantine Period Reestablished 628-638 AD

• 628 – Holy Land recaptured by the Byzantines.

Muslim/Arab Period 638-1099 AD

- 638 Muslim/Arab conquest of the Holy Land completed. Rule is by Caliphs from Damascus, then from Baghdad, and then Egypt.
- 691 On the site of First and Second Temples in Jerusalem, the Dome of the Rock is built by Caliph Abd el-Malik.

Crusader Period 1099-1291 AD

- 1099 Crusaders (Catholic armies from Rome) conquer Jerusalem.
- 1147 Second Crusade arrives in the Holy Land.
- 1187 Destruction of the Crusader army by Muslim leader, Saladin. Collapse of Crusader Kingdom begins.
- 1265 Mamelukes, led by Sultan Beybars, conquer the Holy Land.
- 1270 Final Crusade arrives, and all its participants massacred.
- 1291 Last Crusader stronghold of Acco taken, ending Crusader rule.

Mamluk (Muslim) Period 1291-1517 AD

- 1291 Mamluk rule begins.
- 1333 Franciscan Order established in Jerusalem. Its members care for holy places and pilgrims.
- By the end of the Middle Ages, the country's urban centers were virtually in ruins, most of Jerusalem was abandoned and the small Jewish community was poverty-stricken. The period of Mamluk decline was darkened by political and economic upheavals, plagues, locust invasions, and devastating earthquakes.

Ottoman (Muslim) Period 1517-1917 AD

- 1517 Following the Ottoman conquest in 1517, the land was divided into four districts and attached administratively to the province of Damascus and ruled from Istanbul.
- 1520 Suleiman the Magnificent rebuilds the city walls of Jerusalem.
- 1799 Napoleon Bonaparte invades Israel but fails to capture it and is forced to leave.
- 1860 The first neighborhood, Mishkenot Sha'ananim, is built outside of Jerusalem's city walls.
- 1882 First large-scale immigration to Israel, mainly from Russia.
- 1904 Second large-scale immigration from Russia and Poland.

British Period 1917-1948 AD

• 1917 – British Foreign Minister Lord Balfour issues on November 2, 1917, so-called Balfour Declaration, which gave official support for the "Establishment in Palestine"

- of a national home for the Jewish people" with the commitment not to be prejudiced against the rights of the non-Jewish communities
- 1947 The United Nations approved the partition of Israel into separate Jewish and Arab states on November 29, 1947.

State of Israel Period 1948 to Present

- 1948 On the day, when the British Mandate in Palestine expired, the State of Israel was proclaimed on May 14, 1948, by the Jewish National Council under presidency of David Ben Gurion.
- 1948–1949 The Arab-Israeli War; the Arabs refused to accept the newly established State of Israel. Egypt, Syria, Transjordan, Lebanon, and Iraq attacked Israel, but within a year Israel defeated its attackers.
- 1950 Western Jerusalem was proclaimed the capital city of Israel on January 23, 1950.
- 1956 The Suez Crisis: Israelis invaded Egyptian territory in October 1956.
- 1956 After Egyptian President Gamal Abdel Nasser nationalized the company which administrated the Suez Canal. Followed by a joint attack by the French and British, Egypt suffered military disaster in November 2, 1956. Israel captured Sinai Peninsula but after international condemnation, Israel was forced to withdraw.
- 1967 Six Day War: after Egypt closed the Straits of Tiran on May 22, 1967, Israel launched an attack on Egyptian, Jordanian, Syrian, and Iraqi airports on June 5, 1967. After six days, Israel conquered Jerusalem, the Golan Heights, Sinai, and the West Bank.
- 1973 Yom Kippur War: on October 6, 1973, on the Jewish holiday of Yom Kippur, Syria and Egypt launched a surprise attack against Israel. After initial success of the attackers, Israel managed to cross the Suez into Egypt and endangered Cairo. After the intervention of the USA and USSR, military operations ended on October 25, 1973.
- 1978 The Camp David Accord was signed by Israeli Prime Minister Menahen Begin and Egyptian President Anvar as Sadat in September 1978, in Camp David, USA. Israel agreed to withdraw from the occupied Sinai Peninsula.
- 1979 The Israel-Egypt Peace Treaty was signed on March 26, 1979, in Washington.